I Cannot Find the Words

ferguson-rioter-tear-gas-AP

I cannot find the words
They are hiding from me
Hiding like the breath of Eric Garner
Hiding like the bullets in Mike Brown
They are wrapped in words “land of the free”
Hiding like pastors fearful of speaking truth to power
Cowering from me like White women in streets
I cannot find the words

I cannot find the words
They are hiding behind tear gas and rubber bullets
They are behind the soft speech of a president who condemns violence abroad but excuses it domestically
I cannot find the words

The words find me
On the trembling lips of crying mothers
The words find me in Amos 5 & John 1 as they make straight the way of the Lord
They find me in prayer candles and “We shall overcomes” of wrinkled Black faces
They find me with wet eyes and cop lies
In racist ideologies and argumentative fallacies
I cannot find the words, the words find me

The words find me on the lips of Eric Duncan “I can’t breathe”
On the lips of Trayvon Martin “He’s going to kill me”
On the lips of Mike Brown “I don’t have a gun stop shooting”
On the lips of Emmitt Till hanging from the poplar tree
I cannot find the words, the words find me
– Jarell Wilson 08/14/2014 6:24PM

Leave a Reply

